How to Edit a User

How to Edit a User

Should you need to look to update any details that relate to a user be that the users:
Name
Email
Password
Role

Then you will need to undertake an edit of that user

How to navigate to the Edit

In order to edit a user within MachShip, navigate through to the edit user page by selecting Admin and View Users

Utilising either the Company filter or the Search bar you can filter down the grid to find your required user


Selecting the cog on the right-hand side, then select Edit User


This will bring up the Edit User screen which is broken into four sections
1. Credentials

Here you can alter the users Owning Company and Password

2. User Details
 This outlines some basic information about the user. The required fields are:

  • First Name
  • Surname

The first name and surname are provided as all actions completed in MachShip are recorded in the database, but also in the notes section of a consignment and manifest. This enables admins to quickly audit when and who did a particular action when running an audit.

  • Email 

When a user forgets their password, they can select the Forgot Password? option and an email will be sent allowing them to reset their password. 

The optional fields are:

  • Phone
  • Mobile
  • Business Phone
  • Position 
  • Notes

These fields allow users to provide other users within your business an idea on how and who to contact in situations where contact may be required. 

3. Test Mode Setting

Scroll down to Test mode and select the user's test mode setting. This can be


Users can be set as:
Disabled from seeing test consignments: this will allow a user to see and create only live consignments.
Enabled to see test consignments: this will provide user visibility on test consignments created, and the ability to create test consignments if a carrier account has been set in Test Mode. 
User is in Test Mode: This will allow the user to see and create only test consignments

4. Companies and Roles
This section will show the currently linked Companies and the roles for that user. 
To edit the assigned role, simply select the cog on the right and Edit Roles



Then assign the role or roles that need to be added to this user from the supplied drop-down

Then select the plus icon

The added role will then appear below as can be seen:

Or remove the role that has been assigned by selecting the red cross:


Then save the user link by selecting Save Roles

The user and role listing will appear in the grid as below:


To update the user, select Save User.